A Random Kind of Day

Found a few things today that I wanted to get photos of. They’re totally random, and not much to say about them. Don’t forget, you can click on the photo so see a larger image/more details.

First up: On my way home for lunch, I stopped to take a photo of the large church bells at the Chinese Baptist Church that’s just outside the entrance to my subdivision.  They are pretty high up in the air (I’d guess about 80 feet), and I can hear them ringing sometimes. They’re really beautiful when the white of their scaffolding is so starkly set against such a blue sky like today.

Chinese Baptist Church bells, Duluth, Georgia | 105mm, f/9.5, 1/750 sec, ISO 200

Second: When I got home for lunch, I went to check my tomato plants and realized that I have some yellow and red roses blooming and opening on that side of the house. I’ve photographed flowers almost every way I can think of, so I decided to do something different and run a stylized filter on this yellow rose closeup. I think it makes it look a little painterly and a little more interesting.

Yellow Rose of Duluth | 62mm, f/4.8, 1/2000 sec, ISO 200

And finally: I don’t have a chance to take many photos of children. I have a friend who takes beautiful portraits of kids, and it makes me want to give it a try… but not enough to go and hunt down any children. :)

Today, a co-worker had her precious little boy at the office for a few minutes. I asked him to come over to me so I could take his picture. Being a bold, friendly sort, he came right over. I asked him to say “Cheese” and he did, right as I snapped the picture. Of course, he never stayed still after that first shot. :) Other than the black battery pack coming out of his head in the background, I thought it came out pretty good.

Cutie pie son of co-worker | 46mm, f/4.5, 1/60 sec, ISO 1100

3 thoughts on “A Random Kind of Day

Leave a Reply

