One Bad Apple…

A Round of Apple Juice for Everyone! | 200mm, f/8.0, 1/60 sec, ISO 250

… will attract a beautiful butterfly!

No, this isn’t going to turn into a butterfly blog, but you’re likely to see them show up periodically. I’d been disappointed that I didn’t see anything I wanted to shoot today. I even drove through downtown Duluth looking for something interesting.

When I got home, I decided to shoot the apples that had fallen off the tree in my backyard and had clumped together in a pile. I thought, perhaps, that they might show some interesting colors and textures. As I stooped to focus, I spotted this beautiful black butterfly just going to town on this rotted apple. I’m pretty sure he was enjoying the apple “cider” if you know what I mean.

Below is a full-color shot that better shows the brilliantly colored underside of the butterfly’s wings.

I'm Too Sexy for this Fruit

Leave a Reply

