Now THAT Is a Steel-Belted Radial!

Wonder What the Trade-In Value Is? | 20mm, f/6.7, 1/60 sec, ISO 1100

I thought I’d see what kind of photographic effects I could use to make these old tools and equipment match the nostalgic feeling I had when looking at them. Wasn’t life during the Depression lived in sepia and black and white? :)

I’ve been wanting to get back to a place of self-sufficiency after reading an interesting book called One Second After. It’s a fictional account of what happened in one small town in North Carolina after a nation-wide attack which renders everything electrical useless. Makes me realize how much has been lost in just two generations of my family… how to preserve food, how to grow enough to live on, how to make butter, etc.

Seeing these tools reminds me of what use to be, and depending on how our world goes, what might be again. As someone credited Einstein as saying, “I don’t know how World War III will be fought, but the one after it will be fought with sticks and stones.”

Happy Tuesday! :)

Leave a Reply

