See No Weevil

Bolled Over | 58mm, f/4.8, 1/8000 sec, ISO 800

I was hoping to get some good shots of the cotton fields that line the road all along the way to my folks’ house. However, it seems most of the fields had already been harvested at least once. I think perhaps this field had been gone over twice. There were a couple of smaller fields which still had green leaves and large bolls, but they weren’t easily accessible, and I didn’t have time and wasn’t dressed to go trekking through pastures to get to them.

Looking at this wonderful plant and having grown up with it so ubiquitous, it made me start wondering about its history. I guess it wasn’t too much of a stretch to go from people spinning wool to spinning cotton, especially since cotton looks and behaves somewhat like wool, but I know had it been up to me, cotton probably would have been used only to sleep upon! I doubt I ever would have thought to spin it into a thread. Thank goodness brighter people and cultures than I have come before and figured out good uses for things!!

2 thoughts on “See No Weevil

Leave a Reply

