“You Gon Eat Yo Cone-bread?”

Mmm, Mmm, Good! | 40mm, f/4.0, 1/30 sec, ISO 6400

The title is a line from one of my favorite funny movies, Life, with Eddie Murphy and Martin Lawrence. I even invoked the line at some point during dinner last night when I was introduced to this… turnip green soup, fried cornbread, and a glass of cold milk.

I’d never had turnip green soup before last night, and really wasn’t too sure I’d like it, even though I really like turnip greens. Sandee had eaten it when when she visited her sister last weekend, and she got the recipe from her. Of course, you would need to like turnip greens to enjoy it, but it’s awesome! This particular recipe’s ingredients included the greens, turkey sausage lightly sauteed with some onions, some beans (pinto?), a package of Knorr’s vegetable soup mix, and water. Some recipes call for a can of diced tomatoes, but there weren’t any in this.

My roommate had also made some yummy potato soup recently, and I’d never had any of it either, but it was really good as well. Two great soups in just a few days! How did I get so lucky?!

Anyway, the soup and the cornbread were the perfect dinner for a chilly night. The picture’s not that good, and certainly doesn’t do justice to the taste, but it’s the best I could do in the bad lighting. :)

If you want the full recipe, it’s here.

Leave a Reply

