I Need a Shower

Stars Fell on Alabama | 16mm, f/8.0, 1264 sec, ISO 200

A Leonid meteor shower, that is. Tonight, after the moon is down, about an hour before dawn, is supposed to be one of the best nights to view the meteors in the eastern sky.

I’ll be honest, I’m not likely to get up at that time to take a photo, but I might see if I can force myself.

This picture here is from this past July when I was experimenting with night photography for the first time at the lake where there’s not much ambient light to interfere with the shot. I was shooting straight up with a wide-angle lens, and I think some dust and stuff got on it. Shooting at an ISO that was too high as well, resulted in a lot of graininess. However, it was a 21-minute exposure, and it shows the star trails pretty well. Neat how it captures rotation, huh? :)

Leave a Reply

