Paws to Reflect

"You're Not My Type" | 36mm, f/5.6, 1/750 sec, ISO 200

I wish I felt like writing more about all of the good things in my life, because there are so many, many things for which I’m grateful, but I’m still down about Abbie. My sorrow comes over me in waves and then is gone again.

I think one of the reasons we get so attached to animals is the consistency they provide us… day in and day out, they are with us, there for us, glad that we are home, glad to just be with us. Even when Abbie was getting sick, she almost always met me at the door after work. Perhaps it was only because she was hungry, but I’d like to think it was because she enjoyed my company as much as I enjoyed hers. Having that constant companionship suddenly taken away leaves quite a hole. Even when I have other loving animals with me, each one is special.

I was reading Christine Kane’s writing last night about the loss of a pet, and I’m pulling a paragraph from her blog and adjusting it to my situation to describe how I feel right now.

Even though Abbie weighed only seven pounds at her passing, I felt the grief of a hundred tons of spirit.  After all, the sadness of letting go has so little to do with these earthly issues — like weight and form, or human and pet.  It’s a matter of the heart.  And thank goodness, our hearts don’t know such limitations.

I didn’t take any photos today, so I just posted this one from Boxerstock because I thought these dogs were cute. And I promise this blog will not turn into a downer. I just need to remember Abbie here again today.

One thought on “Paws to Reflect

Leave a Reply

