I’m Dreaming!

A White Christmas | 58mm, f/4.5, 1/20 sec, ISO 6400

Well, who would have thought that I’d actually live to see a white Christmas in the South? When I took this picture, I had only been back in Duluth for about an hour, and the snow was just starting to stick. I hope to get some better pictures tomorrow, assuming it continues to snow!

Some people make fun of lifelong southerners because we get so excited about snow, even if it’s only a little bit. I don’t care! There aren’t many things that make me feel like a kid any more, but snow is one of them. It’s soft and beautiful in its arrival. I love the way it highlights every twig and leaf and blade of grass as it begins to stick and brings out the usually hidden details of the landscape. It makes ordinary objects like my neighbor’s mailbox look practically magical. And what other weather event do most people enjoy playing in?!

So to those who laugh at us, I say, laugh with us!!

Now where did I put my sled….

Leave a Reply

