Purple Haze

Want Some Bread With That Jam?

Obviously, I’m drawing on many of the photos I took in Gordo a couple of weeks ago, because I haven’t been taking any new one. Why? Because I keep forgetting to take my camera to work with me! (Getting older is not for the faint of heart.)

This is Sandee’s eccentric cousin, Butch, one of the small group of artists who lives in this town. A talented metal sculptor, he was nice enough to show me some of his pieces, large and small ones… a Pegasus horse, a fish, bugs, etc. Despite their physical heaviness, the form of each piece was light and playful.

On this day, Butch approached Sandee and me showing off his new (to him) guitar, on his way to a jam session in preparation for a music and art festival to be held later that week.

As he ran his fingers over his new find, Butch got lost in a memory and regaled us with the story of when, as a teen, he attended a Jimi Hendrix concert. He was so entranced with the music, the presence, and the skill of Hendrix that when he left, he knew exactly what he wanted to be… a black man who played the guitar.

Leave a Reply

