A New Start

First sign of good luck for the coming year... the backside of a ladybug

I’m making resolutions in two areas of my life: my health and my hobby.

First, my health: I resolve to pick back up on the healthy habits I engaged in for about the middle half of the year. It wasn’t that hard, just a matter of planning and discipline. In the process, I improved some digestive issues that had plagued me for years, felt better than I had in a long time, and lost 20 pounds. In the last part of the year, I lost my discipline and gained back a few pounds. Time to get back on the proverbial wagon.

Second, my hobby: A year and a half ago, I started this blog  to give myself an outlet and motivation to improve my photography. In the middle of the year, I lost  focus (pun intended) and put the camera aside for a while. I’ve missed it and resolve this year to take at least one photo a day, be it with my good camera, my iphone, or video. This intentional way of looking at my environment will help me find interesting and beautiful things and people. I might fail to post every single day, but I’m going to be very disciplined in that as well.

My plan is to give myself a concept theme or an equipment assignment per week. This first week’s assignment is that all photos must be taken using my macro lens.

I’ve had a blog on and off for years now, and have often struggled with how much to write or to reveal. I’m going to let go of that worry and just write in a fairly stream of consciousness way, because I think it’s a more honest approach to writing… at least for me.

Today’s photo was not intended to shoot the ladybug, it was to shoot the lovely little blue berries on a bush at the side of my house. I have no idea what kind of bush it is, and the berries look like edible blueberries. So when I went out to take the photos, there sat my good luck, and it became the real subject. A happy accident.

So I hope you enjoy my journey with me. I know I intend to. :)

Leave a Reply

