A Tacky Subject

Get to the point

The sun coming through my office window this morning seemed much brighter than normal (or perhaps my eyes were still not wanting to be open) and I noticed how my pile of push pins appeared almost luminescent.

Knowing I needed a photo for today, I placed some push pins on a piece of paper and arranged them in a star. What I had not really noticed was the long shadows being cast also had color in them. My friend Rachel commented the color of the shadows had almost as much color vibrance as the pins themselves.

I am so fascinated by light and by the fact that, without light, there is no color. I like that, in this case, the shadows appear almost as  “real” as the objects themselves, but are only made up of a shaped-defined combination of light and a lack of light.

4 thoughts on “A Tacky Subject

Leave a Reply

