Above It All

Can you imagine?

I very much enjoy visiting the Biltmore House in Asheville. I’ve been either four or five times, and every time, there’s something new inside the house that the owners have renovated. And while I enjoy being in the house, I get the most pleasure out of walking the grounds, the garden, and the trails.

I took this photo in October as Sandee and I were walking back toward the house after visiting the gardens and conservatory. It was an unusually blustery and cold day, so I didn’t enjoy being outside as much as I usually do.

Can you imagine if you were one of the Vanderbilts, sauntering back up to your house, and this was the view towering above the trees? The THIRD floor of your house!! (Fourth if you count the basement that the whole thing sits upon.)

Anyway, I’ve taken photo after photo of the front, the sides, and every other obvious angle, but I really liked this shot because it shows the beauty of the land, the colors of fall, the briskness of the day in the brilliant blue of the sky. And just over the hill, in the middle of some of the most lovely land in North Caroline, is a hint of the largest, privately owned home in the country.

If you’re interested in learning more, here’s the link to their site. And if you ever decide to go visit, take me with you. :)

Leave a Reply

