What the Kale?!

Give 'em kale, Harry!

Lest you think this the same ornamental cabbage I took a photo of earlier this month, it’s not. As a matter of fact, I believe it’s kale. I looked up some of the differences between the two, and kale apparently has more frilly leaf edges, and the head is not as tightly bound… both of which apply to this plant. They’re both from the same plant family, obviously, but I think I like kale better. Photographically, the ins and outs, twists and turns give light and shadows more places to play.

Anyway, it was such a gorgeous day, I had to take a work break and get outside. I took my camera with me and walked down to the lake near our offices, but didn’t see anything interesting there. As I was walking back into the building, I was drawn toward the wonderful intricacies and textures of this plant. Something about it reminds me of a Georgia O’Keefe painting, although it’s way too detailed and not smooth enough to evoke a real O’Keefe comparison, but still, there’s just something about it that looks watercolor-ish.

(Hmmm, now I’m not so sure it’s kale. Oh well, who cares. :)

Leave a Reply

