A Bug’s Life

I got this almost-macro photo of a lady bug on some flowering weed, and was really impressed with my 28-300mm zoom lens’ ability to get this kind of clarity. This was a hand-held shot, and I was about 10″ away from the ladybug, zoomed out at 300mm and f5.6. Remember, the actual size of a lady bug is about 1/8″ and I think you’ll be as impressed with the lens’ capability as I am.

I’d also been playing around with the ISO since it was such a sunny weekend and I was mostly shooting outside. The lower ISO resulted in some really nice, “creamy” bokeh in several shots, including this one.

I am impressed with the detail in the filaments of the flower, more than the detail on the bug.

Click here to see details.

Leave a Reply

