Hmmm, Let Me Ponder That a Minute

Well, if you don’t know already, I quit Facebook. I won’t go into the specifics of the reasons, but suffice it to say that they were compelling enough to make me give up something that I used to really enjoy.

The whole thing just got too political and too ugly and too uncivil for my taste. There’s too much of that already in the digital world, where people can sit and be vicious and judgmental about others when there’s no way they would do it to their face. And if they would or could, I don’t really want to be their friend.

I’m all for honesty, but every thought does not have to be expressed and every opinion not put forth as if it was gospel. Every story has AT LEAST two sides, but somehow, in the digital world, respecting that fact and listening to one another has gotten lost in the mix. Manners and civility and thoughtfulness about how words can wound have often taken a back seat to posting the latest headline or survey or graphic to back up someone’s point. Being “right” becomes more important than dialogue, and it usually spirals downward from there.

And the labeling of one another, oh, the labeling!! To reduce another human being and their experiences and worldview into one or two labels is insulting at best and destructive at worst in that it reduces flesh-and-blood people into one-dimensional caricatures of whatever that label means to any given person.

So, for my own sense of well-being, I chose to extricate myself from that corner of the digital world and focus on my real world, trying to have more face-to-face conversations with real friends and family and spending more time on the hobbies I love, rather than reading statuses I don’t.

I hope some of my blog readers will want to “follow” my blog and be notified when I post. And just like on Facebook, please feel free to leave a comment.

4 thoughts on “Hmmm, Let Me Ponder That a Minute

  1. I thought there was something missing! I am sorry to see you go, but I understand I have severely curtailed my FB time for the same reason. We have to deal with hate and intolerance enough in our real world, there’s no reason to invite it into our virtual world if we can possibly help it. I hope we can stay in touch via email. Can you capture it from this blog?

Leave a Reply

