I’ve Got the Blues


Well, I’m getting my night photography technique down better, I think. Of course, it helps to have a cool-looking building to take a photo of. This is the brand spanking new student center on the Cartersville campus of Georgia Highlands College. When I was looking online to make sure of the name, I found out they just opened it this past Wednesday. I’m glad I stumbled upon it, because it wasn’t even what I was planning to shoot tonight.

This photo is a great example of what is known as the “blue hour.” For about an hour after sunset (or before sunrise), when you take long exposures that include the sky, you get this awesome, rich blue color. This first of a series of this photo was taken at 8:54pm (sunset was at 8:10) and is the result of an HDR compilation of seven different exposures ranging from one second to thirty seconds.

I’m very happy with the details on this one, and glad that the highlights of the lights didn’t blow out too badly either.

Leave a Reply

