Hickory Dickory

I was in Rome, Georgia yesterday, planning to take photos of the quaint and bustling downtown area. I drove around for about half an hour, trying to find a good vantage point, but there were too many cars and tall crepe myrtles on the street to get a good shot. Sunset time was fast approaching, so I ditched my original plan of shooting main street and decided to find a high place from which to shoot toward the sun.

Rome is in the foothills of the Appalachians, and like its Italian namesake, it has seven main hills. One of the hills had this awesome, terraced cemetery on it, but I wasn’t sure of the safety of the surrounding neighborhood, so I went instead to the hill with the clock tower on top of it.

It was my intention to get shots of the clock with the sunset in the background, and I took plenty, but none looked the way I wanted them to. This one, however, was one of the first ones I took when I got there, and from a totally different direction, but I think it’s my favorite. While the sunset is not in this shot, you can still see the golden color it cast on the white of the clock.

On the National Register of Historic Places, the clock was added to the tower (built in 1871) in 1872 and, according to reports, has been keeping accurate time since. Each face is nine feet in diameter, the hour hand is three feet, six inches long, and the minute hand is four feet, three inches long. The bell within the clock tower is made of genuine bronze and measures 40 inches wide.

After I took this photo, I went to set up for the sunset shots. Mosquitoes were really bad, so I went back down to my car to get insect repellent. As I was spraying myself, the clock struck 8:00, and I almost jumped out of my skin, the sound was sooo loud! I guess it would have to be to be heard across the town, but I just wish I’d been expecting it. :)

Details.

Leave a Reply

