Bolled Over

October in Tallassee brings out the beautiful white fields of cotton. A friend of mine from Cinncinati is enamored with the cotton plant and amazed at all of its applications (as am I). Several years ago, I took her a small stalk of cotton for her very own, and she kept it on her desk at work for a long time.

Having grown up around cotton and even playing in trailers full of picked cotton, it doesn’t fill me with the wonder that it does her. Of course, I was amazed at fields upon fields of corn in Indiana & Illinois this summer, so I guess it’s all about that with which one is familiar.

I thought of my friend this weekend as I passed the cotton fields, so I stopped and took a picture to share with her. However, while I like it okay, her instagram iphone photo looks just as good. Just goes to show that a good photo is as much about the subject and the photographer as much as the camera. :)

Details.

Leave a Reply

