“Where Have Ewe Been All My Life?”

I can count on one hand the number of times in my life when I felt I was photographically in the right place at the right time with the right camera, right lens, right light, and right settings. This was one of those times.

Recently at the zoo, I took this photo of this precious little boy, the son of some friends of mine. Most of the time, it was hard to get him to look at me, as he was far more interested in the animals that were behind the fence (and I’m sure I would be too if I were his age). However, when we walked into the petting zoo, he made a beeline for this sheep, went over and hugged it and put his head on its side like it was a pillow. I was coming up from behind him, so was disappointed that I didn’t get that shot. But then, he moved around to the sheep’s head, pulled it up by its chin, leaned his face against its head like it was his very own pet, and looked straight at the camera. (Snap!) The photo gods smiled on me at that moment.

I have some other great shots of him, but I’m not finished processing them. I’m so humbled that people allow me to capture moments of their lives like this.

Details.

Leave a Reply

