The Light Within

Leaving work right before the sun goes down makes for very few daylight photo opportunities. Tonight, as I took a different route home, I saw how nicely lit up this Methodist Church was against the darkening sky. I didn’t have my tripod with me, so I put the camera on the ground (that’s why there’s so much grass in the foreground) and tilted it up by placing my keys underneath the lens. Because these were long exposures shots, there’s no way I could have hand-held this without major blur. Fortunately, I did have my remote with me, so I didn’t have to touch the camera again once I put it down. Details.

The handicap parking signs should have been digitally removed, but I didn’t want to take the time to do it. And, I blew out the lights a bit much, but most of the light is coming from the annoying spotlight behind the hedges at the front corner. I think it would be a much nicer scene without those bright lights, but then, I grew up Baptist, so what do I know about what the Methodists want. ;)

On a side note, today is Sandee’s birthday… the big 5-0! Happy Birthday to my favorite person.

“When we honestly ask ourselves which person in our lives means the most to us, we often find that it is those who, instead of giving advice, solutions, or cures, have chosen rather to share our pain and touch our wounds with a warm and tender hand.”
-Henri Nouwen

Leave a Reply

