Flower Power

These hydrangea flowers are what lured me, unprotected by OFF, into my back yard yesterday, whereupon I was devoured by several mosquitoes within the span of about five minutes.

When I was looking at these blooms through the viewfinder, I kept thinking that something was wrong with my lens. I didn’t have my glasses on, but it looked to me like the I was seeing “double flowers” through the lens. I finally got right up on them and saw that the flowers actually had a repeating pattern that I’d never noticed before.

Before they die, the green petals will turn the pretty pink that you see toward the top of the image. For now, they’re mostly white and green and quite lovely. I’ve let the bush get too “leggy” and so the blooms are hanging upside-down from the heaviness.

I like the detail. It shows the petal on top of petal on top of petal better.

Leave a Reply

