Lethal Beauty

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug
I was given direction from my boss today about how she wanted a new printed piece of ours to look… “clean and slick” were her exact words. For some reason, I spun off into wanting to photograph something with those same words in mind.

Thinking of one of my guns, I decided it would be my subject for the evening. I gently rested it on my black glass stove top and used only the range light above it, creating a pretty decent image.

At first, I had the focus at the end of the barrel, but I think there’s more interest (at least at this angle) around the cylinder. I was shooting up close to it at 27mm, so the drop off in sharpness is pretty severe in front of and behind the focal point, but I think it works.

In case you’re wondering, this is a Ruger GP 100, 357 magnum with a 4.2″ barrel, stainless steel with a satin finish. And yes, it’s loaded… with hollow-tipped .38 special bullets.

Be sure to call and let me know you’re coming if you decide to visit in the middle of the night. :)

Leave a Reply

