I’ll Watch Your Back, You Watch Mine.

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug
While walking in McDaniel Farm Park on Sunday, out of the corner of my eye, I saw a very slight movement near the trees. Having my camera with me and wanting to find something to shoot, I headed down the “road” to see what it was. The road was actually just pressed-down grass where it looked like perhaps the groundskeeper’s truck had gone through a few times. About 30 yards down, just inside the tree line, I could make out the white flickering of a deer tail.

I didn’t have my good camera with me, the one with the powerful lens, so I zoomed out as far as I could and started shooting. Sarah commented that she thought there were two. It was only after I looked up from the viewfinder that I saw the other, as they were originally further apart than you see them here.

Shooting though the brambles and branches, I quietly inched closer and closer. I knew that I’d be lucky to get any decent shots 1) because I was still far away and shooting with an average lens, 2) when the lens is extended to its max length, every twitch of my hand, every breath, every heartbeat is amplified and results in a lot of shake and non-focus, 3) with so much “stuff” between the deer and me, the camera wanted to focus on all of that, and not the deer’s faces, and 4) they were likely to bolt any second.

I took about 20 photos, and this one was the best I got before they bounded away. I’m actually somewhat impressed by the detail the lens was able to capture. Perhaps it’s not as average as I thought. :)